Editions 2019  · 2017 · 2015 · 2013 · 2011 · 2010

2017 Rationale

The creation of the Fernando Gil International Prize for Philosophy of Science was announced by the Portuguese government at the time of his death, to honor his memory and work.

The Prize intends to award a work of particular excellence in the domain of the Philosophy of Science, whether regarding general epistemological problems or particular scientific areas. The 2015 prize was awarded to Michael Friedman, Director of the Patrick Suppes Center for the History and Philosophy of Science, and Professor of Philosophy at Stanford University.

The recipient of the Prize is requested to deliver an original public lecture that will be published by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation and to conduct a program of specialized seminars for students and researchers in Lisbon on the occasion of the Prize ceremony.

The nominated works will be evaluated by the Jury during the course of 2017. The prize will be awarded in March 2018.


The Prize was launched as a joint initiative of the Portuguese government, represented by the FCT, Portuguese Foundation for Science and Technology, and FCG, the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation.

The Fernando Gil International Prize, initially awarded annually (2010 and 2011), is now awarded every two years, in Lisbon.

The amount to be paid to the laureate will be 75.000,00 € (seventy-five thousand euros).


Only original and recent works of a single author, from any nationality or professional affiliation, published during the five previous years (2012-2016) will be taken into consideration.

Nominations to the Fernando Gil International Prize 2017 in Philosophy of Science should be sent to premio-filosofia@fernando-gil.org.pt.

The call for nominations opens on 1st September 2016 and the deadline for the receipt of nominations is 15th December 2016. Nominations should include the following elements:

  • The complete publication data regarding the nominated work;
  • A critical review of the work giving reasons why it can be considered as worthy of the prize (500 words);
  • A brief comment of the author biography (500 words);
  • E-mail address of the nominated author.

Nominations from the nominees themselves cannot be accepted.

The authors will be contacted by FCT to provide a paper copy and a pdf of the nominated work, in order to be evaluated by the Jury.

The required elements above are condition of acceptance of nominations.

Award committee

  • Per Aage Brandt, Case Western Reserve University.
  • Marcelo Dascal, Tel Aviv University.
  • François Duchesneau, Université de Montréal
  • Donald Gillies, University College, London.
  • Giulio Giorello, Università degli Studi di Milano.
  • Peter Machamer, University of Pittsburg.
  • Manuel Silvério Marques, Centro de Filosofia, Universidade de Lisboa.
  • Maria Filomena Molder, Departamento de Filosofia, Universidade Nova de Lisboa.
  • Frédéric Nef, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, Paris.
  • Jean Petitot, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, Paris.
  • Ricardo Lopes Coelho, Faculdade de Ciências, Universidade de Lisboa.
  • Olivier Darrigol, CNRS/Université Denis Diderot.